skip to content, health centers and clinics, search, accessibility statement

HeartSafe Community

A HeartSafe Community is a community where all elements of the Chain of Survival are in place and there is a focus on improving the cardiovascular health of its citizens, thereby increasing the chances that anyone suffering a cardiovascular emergency will have the best possible chance for survival.

Communities throughout Contra Costa County are being invited to join the EMS Agency and the American Heart Association in making Contra Costa County a safer place to live, shop, work and play by challenging all of our communities to achieve HeartSafe Community designation. Information on how to achieve this designation can be found below.

How can you help? If you are not already trained in CPR taking a CPR class would be the best way to help your community. Find a class near you.

The following communities have already submitted their letters of intent to seek HeartSafe Community designation:

  • Alamo *
  • Antioch
  • Bethel Island
  • Blackhawk *
  • Brentwood *
  • Byron
  • Clayton *
  • Concord *
  • Danville *
  • Diablo *
  • El Cerrito *
  • El Sobrante
  • Kensington *
  • Knightsen
  • Orinda
  • Richmond
  • San Ramon *

* These communities have been designated as a “HeartSafe Community.”


If you have additional questions, please contact Lisa Vajgrt-Smith, Prehospital Care Coordinator at